News History About Contact Home



The watch list for the 2014 Gregg Olson Award presented by Toolshed Sports, has been determined. Through hard work, strength of mind and determination the following players have made the list to honor college baseball's "Breakout Player of the Year".

The award is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result. 

Initial nominations were made by sports information/media contacts from schools across the country. The finalists and winner will be determined by an independent panel.

Semifinalists are slated to be named, Friday, May 30th at the start of NCAA Regional play and the finalists are scheduled to be announced on Friday, June 6th at the beginning of Super Regional action. The winner of the 2014 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25/26. 2013 

The winner of the 2014 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 14-June 24/25.


Will Allen C Ole Miss
Nathan Becker OF Davidson
Danny Beddes P Utah Valley
Bryce Beeler UTL Memphis
Bryan Bonnell P UNLV
Auston Bousfield OF Ole Miss
Cody Boutte P Louisiana
Greg Brody UTL Belmont
Payden Cawley Lamb OF Gonzaga
Taylor Clarke P College of Charleston
Sam Clay P Georgia Tech
Shawn Clowers P Liberty
Jace Conrad 2B Louisiana
Daniel Cortes OF Army
Andy Cox P Tennessee
Zac Curtis P Middle Tennessee
Andro Cutura P Southeast Louisiana
Ryan Daniels P SIU Edwardsville
Tyler Davis P Washington
Paul DeJong IF Illinois St
Montana Durapau P Bethune-Cookman
Mike Franco P Florida International
Kyle Freeland P Evansville
Reed Garrett P VMI
Aaron Garza P Houston
Kristian Gayday 3B IPFW
Brandon Hallford P South Alabama
Kurt Hoekstra 2B Western Michigan
Mac James C/1B/OF Oklahoma
Baum Jay IF/OF Clemson
Casey Jones IF/OF Elon
Curtis Jones UTL Houston Baptist
Reese Kanter OF New Orleans
Jon Keller P Alabama
Scott Kingery OF Arizona
Nathan Kirby P Virginia
Brandon Koch P Dallas Baptist
Ryan Koopman P Campbell
AJ Ladwig P Wichita St
Blaise Lezynski 1B Notre Dame
Jacob Lindgren P Mississippi St
Lee Longo 1B Eastern Michigan
Jordan Luplow OF Fresno St
Chase Mallard P UAB
Michael Matuella P Duke
Jacob McNamara DH UIC
DJ Miller SS Delaware St
Sam Moore P UC Irvine
Richie Navari P Louisiana Tech
Tyler Neslony OF Texas Tech
James Norwood P St. Louis
Eric Nyquist P Mercer
TJ Olesczuk OF Winthrop
Dillon Ortman P Auburn
David Owen P Arkansas St
Connor Owings IF/OF Coastal Carolina
Max Pentecost C Kennesaw St
Rohn Pierce P Canisius
Brandon Rawe OF Morehead St
DJ Ruhlman SS Seton Hall
Victor Sanchez P New Mexico
Taylor Sandefur UTL Western Carolina
Scott Schaub 3B Jacksonville
Jordan Schwartz P Niagra
Ryan Seiz 2B Liberty
Eric Skoglund P UCF
Andrew Stevenson OF LSU
Eric Stiene P Xavier
Jake Stinnett P Maryland
Brett Sunde C Western Michigan
Pat Sweeney SS Rutgers
George Thanopoulos P Columbia
Michael Thomas C Kentucky
Brandon Tierney 3B Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Nick Vilter SS/2B UC Riverside
Matt Warren P Creighton
Matt Weckerle OF NJIT
Drew Weeks OF North Florida
Ryan Williams P East Carolina
Austen Williams P Texas St
Nic Wilson 1B Georgia St
Brian Wolfe OF/1B Washington
Shane Zeile C/INF UCLA